Skip to content

A little background…

December 24, 2011

I know everyone is making New Year’s resolutions right now, and you’re probably thinking this is just going to be another one that last through January than tapers off.  Well, I’ve decided to start a blog to help hold myself accountable to what I actually want to do and accomplish.  What is that, you ask?  Well here’s my new plan, why I’ve decided to do it, and why it is important for me to stick to it!

A little background…

In August of 2010 I was diagnosed with an autoimmune disorder called Addison’s Disease. Now I’m no doctor, but this is the most simple way I know how to explain this: Addison’s Disease is the fancy name for an adrenal insufficiency.  We all have two adrenal glands, one located above each kidney.  My little guys decided to stop producing enough cortisol, a hormone that helps your body manage stress, digestion of sugar, and boast your immune system.  Surprisingly, I was not a basket case of stress, but did get sick ALL the time.  That was the main tip-off for the doctor to figure out what was going on.

So anyways, I get diagnosed and the doctor tells me I’m just going to be on the hormone replacement drug (like you would for a slow thyroid or something) for the rest of my life.  He couldn’t tell me WHY this suddenly happened, but did list a numerous number of side effects that I wasn’t okay with not knowing answers to.  My mom and I set out on a mission to find a doctor that could really know how to help me. I found this amazing doctor, Dr. Shickman, who has helped me tremendously.

The reason I developed Addison’s is because of GLUTEN.  The vain of my existence.  I stopped eating obvious wheat about 10 years ago, but was still consuming it through hidden gluten, cross contamination, and everyday products (i.e. shampoo-who knew?!).  Dr. S said in order to heal my adrenals I need to rid ALL gluten from my diet and lifestyle.  So, that past 6 months I’ve become “Freakin Gluten Free”.  I check labels, call companies, ask a million questions as restaurants, and do my best to keep gluten away from me!

My next job is to kill all of the yeast in my body.  We all have some yeast, but mine has multiplied because of the improper digestion of gluten.  An overgrowth of yeast causes inflammation in my GI track.  To completely rid my body of gluten for good, I need to clean out my digestive system.

So, that leads me to where I am on my quest for health now… I hope you’ll follow me on this crazy journey.  And maybe learn a little bit along the way!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

