Skip to content

Amazing News about GF Alcohol!

January 7, 2012

Have you ever come home from a long day at work and relaxed on the couch with an ice cold beer?  I never have, but I’ve seen plenty of beer commercials that make it look pretty appealing.  Obviously beer contains gluten, therefore us g-free people can’t kickback and sip on one like many of our friends.  Some companies now make gluten free beer, but it’s just not that good.  The one I tried tasted like champagne mixed with dirt…maybe it’s an acquired taste?

So, without beer, I’m left to drinking wine (not complaining), champagne, potato vodka, rum, and tequila as options of gluten free alcohol.  The other night my fellow freakin gluten free friend, Ali, and I were talking about this.  She recently learned that most hard alcohol IS gluten free.  Just to be certain, I did a little research and found that answer. I found a very extensive list on celiac.com of liquor that we can drink!  Hooray!

Here is the article!  I’m excited to try some new drinks…after my cleanse if over, of course.

http://www.celiac.com/articles/222/1/Gluten-Free-Alcoholic-Beverages/Page1.html

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2012 12:23 am

    Word on the street is that Dogfish Head (one of my favorite microbreweries) is releasing a new g free ale. Gotta check it out once it hits the shelves. Hopefully it will be an upgrade to the “champagne au dirt”

  2. January 8, 2012 9:11 pm

    Sweet! Dogfish Head….what a name! haha

Leave a Reply

