Skip to content

Good Bread, Bad Stomach

January 12, 2012

Today I got to have breakfast with my good friend Annie and Heather.  We went to Claire’s on Cedros, one of our favorite cafes in San Diego.  Along with delicious food, they offer gluten free options, like muffins, bread, and pancakes.  They are very informed on how to cook gluten free and keep food from any cross-contamination with bread. So, I really trust their kitchen staff and have the freedom to order a variety of things from the menu (including sandwiches since they have gf bread!)

Anyways, I got the Green Scramble (eggs, spinach, zucchini, onions) with no pesto and feta to stick to my diet. I also resisted the roasted breakfast potatoes, that I LOVE, because they are not yeast friendly as well.  HOWEVER, I did not think about the fact that the gluten free bread has SUGAR in it!  I throughly enjoyed my slices of toast, but suffered the consequence of a stomach ache the rest of this afternoon.  Bummer.  Now I know that I either can’t order gf bread products. or need to inquire first whether or not they contain sugar.  I also now know how much sugar affects me.  Not just in candy and junk food, but in everything…apparently.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

