Skip to content

For the Tea Lovers!

February 25, 2012

I LOVE drinking tea.  It is my afternoon pick-me-up and nightly beverage.  One of the many things gluten hides itself in is TEA!  The natural flavorings and/or malt in tea can be full of gluten.  This was one substance where I was consuming gluten for years without knowing it!  Some teas are starting to say gluten free on them.  If they don’t I always check with the brand.  Better to be safe than sick…

Yogi Tea is one of my favorite brands that has a wonderful variety of tea.  I emailed them to find out if they are gluten safe.  Here is the email they sent back to me…

“Thank you for contacting Yogi Tea!  We appreciate hearing from you and are happy to provide you with information on the Yogi teas containing gluten.  At Yogi, we take a very conservative stand whenever individual health issues, especially food sensitivities, are concerned.

All natural flavors used in Yogi teas are gluten free. In addition, the tea bag material and packaging used for all of our teas contain no added gluten and there is no naturally occurring gluten the majority of our teas.
In fact, Yogi has over sixty varieties of tea, and only four of our current Yogi tea recipes contain barley malt.  The four Yogi teas containing barley malt, and therefore gluten, are:

  • Yogi Healthy Fasting tea
  • Yogi Stomach Ease tea
  • Yogi Kava Stress Relief tea
  • Yogi Calming tea 

My personal favorite is the decaf Green Tea.  Although, I’m a sucker for green tea.
Curl up by the fire tonight with a good book (I just got Hunger Games…so excited to read it, btw) and enjoy a nice, warm cup of tea!
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Megan permalink
    January 6, 2014 5:19 pm

    Thank you so much for posting this! Just found out my favorite – Stomach Ease has actually been doing the opposite of easing my stomach! haha. Makes sense. Thank you!

    • January 22, 2014 3:22 pm

      Hi Megan! You’re very welcome. I’m glad I was able to help you figure out where the sneaky gluten was coming from–I hate when that happens! Ironic that is was the stomach ease tea!!

Trackbacks

  1. Does Coffee Contain Gluten?! « Freakin Gluten Free

Leave a Reply

