Skip to content

Fruity GF Granola

March 14, 2012

I once had a roommate who made homemade granola almost every Saturday morning.  I’d wake up to the smells of cinnamon and honey and instantly crave her tasty looking granola.  The main ingredient in granola is oats, so, as life goes being freakin gluten free, I could never try any.  I’ve been told that oats actually are gluten free, but since they are grown in fields alongside wheat and barley, they are highly contaminated, making them part of the “no, no” list.

You can only imagine my excitement when Trader Joe’s started to carry  Gluten Free Rolled Oats.  The big blue bag has added much more variety to my breakfast selections.  I decided I’d try making some granola with it and I was beyond surprised with how yummy it turned out!  To get a general idea for what to do, I googled “gluten free granola” and then used recipe from the “Gluten Free Girl” blog as a guide.

First, I went to Trader Joes and stocked up on nuts and dried fruit.  I got pumpkin seeds, almonds, dried blueberries, dried apricots, and the dried golden berry blend.  From Sprouts, I got gluten free buckwheat and millet.

Here is what you need:

5 cups certified gluten free oats (I recommend Trader Joe’s)

2 cups chopped almonds (I bought slivered almonds)

1 cup pumpkin seeds

1/2 cup buckwheat

1/2 cup millet

3 teaspoons cinnamon

2 teaspoons ginger

1 teaspoon sea salt

2 cups or more of diced dried fruit (I uses blueberries, raisins, cherries, cranberries and apricots)

1/4 cup agave

2 tablespoons coconut oil (melted)

A squeeze of honey

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

In a large baking pan or sheet (I recommend a pan so you can shake it without everything spilling all over), mix together the oats, almonds, pumpkin seeds, buckwheat and millet.  Sprinkle the cinnamon, ginger, and salt on top then stir it in.

Throw the bite-sized pieces of dried fruit on top.  You can do a much or as little as you’d like.  I’d recommend covering the whole top of the oat mixture, but it is up to you.  Mix all of it together then separate half of the uncooked granola into another baking pan.  This isn’t necessary, but I found that it helps the granola cook more evenly.  Added more dried fruit if desired.

Melt the coconut oil and stir in some Agave.  Pour over the granola.  You want it to be moist, but not too wet or dry.  You can asses this and add more coconut oil if needed.  If you can have sugar, you can use maple syrup.

Bake in the oven for 12 minutes.  Then shake the granola and put back in the oven.  Do this 2-3 times, depending on your oven and desired crunchy-ness.  You want the granola to be a golden brown.

As you can see, this makes A LOT of granola.  I filled two tuba-a-wares full of it.  I’ve had it for about two weeks now and it still tastes fresh.  My favorite way to eat it is with vanilla almond milk.  Don’t deprive yourself any longer!  Go bake! Enjoy 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

