Skip to content

Gluten Free Matrimony

August 6, 2012

Image

Hello Freakin Gluten Free!  It has certainly been a while and a lot has happened in my life since my last post.  The biggest happening; I went from being a MISS to a MRS! YAY!!  Craig and I tied the knot on July 7th, then went on an incredible honeymoon to Belize.  Now, we are back in Boston and getting settled into our first home.  I’m having fun with all my new cooking gadgets and look forward to posting a lot more new and inventive recipes I’m making!

Being a gluten free Bride, it was obviously important to me to have all gluten free food at my wedding: from the appetizers to the entree to the CAKE.  I didn’t want to take any risk with gluten or have to worry about it a single bread crumb bit! So, in planning the wedding and talking to the chef, this was a priority.

The food was amazing, really, it was.  We had the option of fish with risotto or chicken with jambalaya.  Everyone was raving about it.  Look at the menu and all the day of details on my friend Danielle’s blog.  She did an amazing job designing everything!

Image

Now I know you must be thinking, what about the CAKE?! Being gluten free and wanting a cake to cut into and smash in my hubby’s handsome face created a little bit more work than I expected.  I tried a few gluten free bakeries, but either the cake was no good or they didn’t follow up well on the business side.  I was starting to get a little discouraged and even thought about trying to make my own cake.  But, let’s be honest, how many brides really want to do that?!  And I knew that mine would not look that impressive!  My friend Ali then gave me the number of a friend that makes gluten free (and regular cakes) from home.  Brittany Austin started her own wedding cakes and costume desserts business, Divinely Made. We set up a tasting appointment and I was beyond impressed.  Having to use gluten free ingredients did not limit her from all she can create!  The cake was moist, rich in flavor, and delicious.  She was also great about sticking to my budget and designing the cake to match our wedding (navy and yellow).  The cake was perfect.  All my wedding dreams did come true :).

Image

It was a vanilla cake layered with a rich chocolate ganache, raspberry compote, and a smooth dark chocolate mousse. YUM!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

