Skip to content

Pesto! Pesto! Pesto!

August 10, 2012

When Craig and I took on Bed Bath and Beyond with the wedding registry gun, we dreamed of all the delicious things we’d one day make in our first home. Now, that time has come and he is holding me to it! We often dreamed of the homemade pesto we could make in our Cuisinart food processor (thanks McBride family!). Now, Craig is holding me to the promise of homemade pesto, so, I decided to give it a shot.

I had never used a food processor before so it was a little intimidating. But hey, how bad can fresh herbs and pine nuts be? I googled “dairy, gluten free pesto” and used the recipe from Gluten Free Goddess as a guide.  Wow!  Was it delicious.  We went safe with our choice of herbs and nuts the first time around, but I think you could really use a variety of herbs and nuts.  Next time, I’d like to try adding in pecans and cashews!

Here were the ingredients I used:

1 cup cilantro
1/2 cup parsley
1/2 mint
1/2 cup pine nuts  (you can get a nice big bag at Costco)
2 cloves fresh garlic
1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil, as needed (I use Trader Joes)
Sea salt, to taste

Directions:

To set up your food processor (for the newbies like me), Assemble base as the instructions say and insert the chopping medal blade

Add the fresh herbs and pulse till they are finely chopped

Fresh herbs added first to pulse

 

Then add the pine nuts and continue to pulse

Add the pine nuts and garlic for pesto

With the lid on, slowly pour in the evoo and pulse till the pesto becomes smooth.

When done, pour into a bowl and let it sit in the refrigerator for a least an hour.  I poured some evoo on top to help keep it moist and green.  Add to pasta, pizza, chicken, and whatever else your heart desires! Enjoy!!

pesto!!

 

This was a great first food processor experiment and I’m excited explore more pesto tastes!  This weekend I’m making it with basil, pecans, and pine nuts.  I’ll let you know how it goes.  Stay tuned!

If you have any pesto recipes, post them below.  I’ll give you the credit when I try making it 🙂

Leave a Reply

