Skip to content

Southwest Chicken Salad

August 30, 2012

You know you’ve made something good when your husband says, “can you make that chipotle  salad you made last summer?  I really liked it”.  “Sure sweetie” I reply with a sheepish smile as I’m racking my brain to come up with this mystery salad I made.  The weather has been BEAUTIFUL and I thought I a summer salad would be a great way to celebrate this magical summer.  Plus, if Craig is asking for a meal filled with vegetables, I am not going to turn him down!  So, I looked in the fridge and and brainstormed what I would put in this “famous” Southwest Chicken salad.

I’ve recently been a big fan of this spicy blackened chicken.  I made some for dinner the night before and set two breasts aside for our salad.  It added a great kick of spice and flavor to the salad.  Already cooking the chicken the night before also made dinner preparations easy.  If you don’t want to make this chicken, then any grilled or pan seared chicken would be great.

After making the chicken, it’s time to chop and assemble the salad.  There is no set measuring scale of how much, or little, veggies to cut, so guesstimate and go with it!

I used a bag of spinach and added…

*Chopped red onion

*Corn {I buy the frozen corn at Trader Joe’s.  I put a handful on a skillet for about 2 mins.}

*1/2 of a red bell pepper

*1/2 a can of the Organic Black Beans from Trader Joe’s, drained

*A fist full of chopped green onions

*Baby tomatoes

NOW, it’s time to add my favorite addition to the salad…THE DRESSING!  My friend Anna came over for dinner last week and brought me this delicious, creamy, GLUTEN FREE Guacamole Ranch dressing!  I had no idea the Wish Bone now labels their dressing “gluten free”, let alone makes this incredible creation {thanks Anna!}.  It is the perfect dressing for this Southwest style salad.  I highly recommend it 🙂

I really have no idea if this is the salad I made last summer, but Craig and I both really liked it.  I hope you and your guest enjoy it too!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

