Skip to content

Coconut Milk Yogurt

September 10, 2012

Along with being gluten free, I try to avoid dairy.  Try being the key word.  SO, when I saw this vegan, dairy, and gluten free Cultured Coconut Milk yogurt at Trader Joe’s {see my favorite things post below} I had to give it a shot.  This morning I was feeling adventures and wanted to break out of my regular breakfast routine of eggs and turkey bacon.  I emptied the vanilla flavored yogurt into a bowl, added some GF granola and flax seeds on top, sat down with my cup of green tea, and took my first bite.  The yogurt was different.  You could definitely tell that it was not made from cow’s milk.  It was thinner and “watered down”; plus it had a very distinct coconut syrup kick to it, like something you’d taste in a flavored Starbucks latte.  I should have expected this since coconut oil has a sweeter flavor.  All in all, I didn’t love it.  I actually didn’t even finish my breakfast.  I do think the yogurt would be better in a smoothie, or something where you want to have a rich, honey squeezed flavor.  This is the first time I’ve ever had anything made with coconut milk that I didn’t love.  So, I might give it another try, but in a different context.  Tomorrow morning I’m back to my regular, reliable, breakfast!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2012 1:44 pm

    Give the blueberry version a try! The blueberry adds a nice tart kick and makes it taste more like real yogurt. It is still less thick than regular yogurt, but i really like it.

Leave a Reply

