Skip to content

BOO! It’s Candy Time

October 2, 2012


Happy October!  Halloween is just around the corner and stores are packed with isles of candy.  People start throwing their summer diets out the window as they grab another handful of candy corn to snack on at their desk.  Just yesterday, I was at a friend’s house and a big, pumpkin shaped, glass bowl, full of candy corn was calling my name.  I took the lid off the jar and reached my hand in, when I wondered, “Is candy corn gluten-free?”  So, that brings me to this week’s Tuesday Tip:  What you need to know about candy corn and other Halloween treats.

This traditional yellow, orange, and white stripped, triangular treat, was invented in the 1880s by the Wunderlee Candy Company. The main ingredients are sugar, water, and corn syrup.  It’s no wonder they taste so good!  Brach’s Candy Corn is a popular company that mass-produces this Halloween treat, but, according to celiac.com, it is NOT gluten-free!  The article “Gluten-Friendly and Gluten-Free Candy and Treats for Halloween” gives in extensive list of candy that is and is not okay to eat.

Although Brach’s Candy Corn is not listed as gluten-free, there is store made brands–like Target and Stop and Shop– that sell gluten-free candy corn.  As always, be sure to double-check before you indulge in the whole bag. 🙂

Advertisements
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: