Skip to content

Stormy Weather Soup

October 30, 2012

I am lounging on my couch, listening to the rain outside, eating a slice of Udi’s GF toast with Trader Joe’s pumpkin butter (my favorite “dessert”), and taking in the wonderful scent of my mulled spice candle.  I am relaxed and excited to get back to blogging! Tonight I wanted to share with you one of my go-to, cold-day, soup recipes.  We’ve spent a lot of time inside the past few days, thanks to hurricane Sandy, so I made a big pot of Chicken Noodle and Vegetable soup for us.  Perfect for stormy weather.  It is healthy, filling, and very easy.

 

 

 

Chicken Noodle and Vegetable Soup

Ingredients:

1 cup uncooked GF noodles

2 chicken breast, cooked and shredded

1 cup carrots, chopped

1 zucchini, chopped

1 leak, chopped

1/2 cup corn

1 14oz can stewed tomatoes

3 cloves garlic, minced

2 tsp oregano, basil, salt, and pepper

A pinch of red pepper flakes (optional)

Parmesan cheese (optional)

Chicken broth–I make my own, but you can use a box as well (stay tuned for this how-to post-it’s incredibly easy!) 

Directions:

In a large pot, combine all your chopped vegetables, chicken, and canned tomatoes.  Pour in broth your broth.  Add spices and turn on stop to medium.  Let soup simmer till the vegetable are cooked, then turn on low.

In a separate pot, cook your noodles.  I add them to the soup by the bowl, so they don’t get overcooked in the broth.

In your bowl, add the amount of noodles you want, then grab your ladle and fill your bowl up with some delicious, warm, soup!  Sprinkle with parmesan cheese for extra flavor

*This soup is great with a variety of vegetables!  Sometime I’ll use broccoli instead of zucchini, or an onion instead of leaks.  You can also add quinoa or brown rice instead of noodles.  Be creative!  Now you have something to look forward to when a hurricane hits…  Enjoy! 🙂

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

