Skip to content

Touchdown Brussels Sprouts

February 14, 2013

Craig and I made our monthly trip to Costco Wholesale and I bought a HUGE bag of Brussels Sprouts.  Lately, I’ve been expanding my vegetable palate and have discovered a love for these little, green, awkwardly shaped source of nutrition.

A few days after our excursion was Superbowl Sunday.  If I was on my game, I would have prepared to bring a dip of some sort, but as I was staring into my fridge, all I had were BRUSSELS SPOUTS!  Craig didn’t think it would be too strange to bring a veggie dish, and I knew all the women there would probably appreciate a healthy option, too.  Plus, I knew it would be something gluten free on the table.

Turns out, they SCORED.  So many people commented on how much they loved them.  So, I thought I’d introduce you to my TOUCHDOWN BRUSSELS SPROUTS

Here’s the “team” (the quality of the ingredients depends on how many sprouts you’re cooking, so you can estimate with everything.  You really can’t go wrong):

photo

Brussels sprouts, washed and cubed (I cut in quarters)

Craisins

Shaved almonds or walnuts

Gorgonzola Cheese

Maple Syrup

a touch of Balsamic Vinaigrette

Here’s the “playbook”:

On medium heat, heat EVOO on a skillet and add the Brussels sprouts.  Let them cook for about 5 minutes, then add nuts and craisins. Continue to stir on stove until the sprouts are cooked through (you can put a fork through them).  Turn the heat down to low and add a touch of maple syrup and balsamic.  You want to use about half the amount of balsamic as you do syrup.  Stir for another minute.  Remove from heat and place in a serving dish.  Sprinkle cheese on top. Serve hot.

Along with Beyonce’s stellar halftime show, people left the party wanting more brussels sprouts.

Enjoy!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2013 9:48 am

    Great goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you are just too excellent. I really like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what you are saying and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it sensible. I can’t wait to read far more from you. This is actually a wonderful website.

Trackbacks

  1. Kale! | Freakin Gluten Free
  2. Gluten Free Thanksgiving Menu | Freakin Gluten Free

Leave a Reply

