Skip to content

In Honor of St. Patty

March 18, 2013

I had all intentions to post this yesterday, but my husband and I decided to start rounding up necessary documents to do our taxes and, well, I went straight to bed after that adventure.  For St. Patty’s day we watched the colorful and ridiculous street fair in Boston.  From Girl Scout Troops, to a Colonial army, to guys dressed in kelts, the fair had a lot of great people watching.  I’ve never seen so many drunk leprechauns in my life.

As we were driving home from the fair I was trying to think of something green that I could make for the festive holiday.  I got home and saw the fresh bunch of kale in the fridge.  I’ve heard great things about Kale Chips, but have never tried making them before.  I totally winged it: turning the oven to 450, cutting up the kale, and tossing it in salt, pepper, and garlic salt.  I lined the baking pan with parchment paper and spread the kale out.  I put them in the oven for 11 minutes and they were crunchy and salty.  My mistakes: too much salt and about 2 minutes overdone.  Overall though, I really liked them.

I still had some kale that I needed to use, so I decided to make Cilantro, Basil, and Kale Pesto.  I used my go-to pesto recipe.  It turned out delicious!

Kale (before cooking) chips and pesto!

Kale (before cooking) chips and pesto!

We definitely got our greens for the day!  I hope you had a fun and festive St. Patty’s Day!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

