Skip to content

Summer Chicken Mexican Slaw

May 29, 2013

Hello Gluten-Free Friends!

It has been a while since my last post.  I have been cooking a lot, with an extra-healthy menu to follow the Whole30 Cleanse.  I just recently finished the cleanse and feel amazing.  I highly recommend it for any of you who have a gluten allergy, but still feel bloated and not always 100%.  My husband was hesitant for me to follow the plan and restrict my diet even more  (no sugar, dairy, or carbs), but has actually appreciated the Whole30 challenge because it’s given me a renewed love for cooking and creating new, tasty dishes. 🙂

One of my simple, fast,  and favorite new dishes is a Summer Chicken Mexican Slaw.  It is fast and delicious.  I’ve made it as a side for dinner and my main meal for lunch. It’s also perfect to bring with you to summer BBQ and other gatherings.

Image

Here’s what you’ll need to do:

2 chicken breast-cooked and shredded.

1 bag of carrot/broccoli slaw (I buy this at Trader Joe’s)

1 purple onion, finely diced

1 roma tomato, chopped

1 avocado, sliced

Fresh cilantro, chopped

Juice of 1 lime

2 tsp apple cider vinegar

2 tsp olive oil

Toss all of the ingredients together.  Adjust seasonings to taste.

*If you’re not following the Whole30 plan, you can also add black beans

Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

