Skip to content

Seattle: My Food Home

October 2, 2013

Two of our good friends got married last weekend in Seattle.  The wedding was a great excuse to go explore a new city, known for it’s great food.  After spending three days there, and eating the most amazing gluten-free food I’ve ever had, I might have to move there.  Just kidding. Kind of…

Here is the menu of my eating tour through the rainy neighborhoods of Seattle:

First, we flew there on Jet Blue-the most amazing airline, mainly because they offer free GF snacks.  I watched reruns of Project Runway and ate about 3 bags of Pop Corners.

French toast bar!

French toast bar!

Our first day started off with brunch at Portage Bay Cafe, a local and organic restaurant near the University of Washington.  They have a french toast buffet bar filled with fresh berries, homemade whip cream, and other delectable toppings.  Do you usually see things like this an instantly feel slightly sorry for yourself that you have to miss out of the amazing looking treat?  At Portage Bay Cafe you don’t have to!  They have homemade Gluten-Free toast, made daily.  I know that it is made daily because I ate here twice (don’t judge me) and the bread was different both times.   If you go to Seattle, this cafe is a must.

After walking around UW to help disgust our fully stomachs, we headed over to Pikes Place, an outdoor market full of fresh flowers stands.  While we were there we stumbled upon Coffee & A Specialty Bakery where everything is gluten free!  Tania is a “chef on a mission” and she’s conquered the kitchen! I enjoyed a warm and fluffy GF baguette.

That evening we had dinner in Fremont (home of the troll) at Hunger 2.0-a new, local spot. I was still full groom brunch, so I ordered a delicious kale salad. The portions are pretty small, so I wouldn’t recommend splitting plates here. Although they do not have a GF menu, they are aware of what you can, and cannot, eat.

The next morning we went back to Fremont and had an early lunch at Homegrown, a sustainable sandwich shop.  They also had Gluten Free bread that was delicious.  I even made Craig taste it to assure me that it was gluten-free.  That’s right, it didn’t taste like cardboard! haha. I had the Turkey, Bacon + Avocado sandwich.  I highly recommend it.

Right up the street from Homegrown was The Flying Apron, a organic, vegan, and gluten free bakery.  We had a chocolate macaron and peanut butter chocolate cookie. They both melted in your mouth.  If we were there longer I would have tried everything!

After our food excursion throughout the city, we enjoyed celebrating our friends wedding festivities!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

