Skip to content

Gluten Free Thanksgiving Menu

November 26, 2013

I’m anxiously awaiting Thursday afternoon, at 2pm, to be exact, when I will indulge in a delicious gluten free Thanksgiving with friends.  We are hosting this year and I challenged all our guests to make their dish gluten-free!

I plan to start the morning off with a nice treat by making my Flaxseed Pumpkin Muffins.

When guests arrive I’ll have Sweet Potato and Butternut Squash Soup hot on the stove for them to enjoy while we mingle and wait for the turkey.  After we all have a glass of wine in hand and the bird is carved, we’ll have the following gluten-free dishes on the table:

I’ll be making the turkey.  It is only my second time, so I’m a little nervous!  I have celery, carrots, onions, and garlic to stuff the turkey with.  I’ll baste it with butter, garlic salt, and pepper, then throw it in the the turkey bag in the oven! I did this last year and it turned out pretty well.  If you have any other suggestions, let me know! 🙂

For the vegetables, we’ll have my favorite Apple and Goat Cheese salad.  It’s easy to make and doesn’t take much time! We’ll also have  gluten free green bean casserole, which is always a nice treat and something I normally wouldn’t take the time to make. Another delicious vegetable I’d suggest is my Touchdown Brussels Sprouts.  The more vegetables you eat, the more pie you can have, right?!

Our friends are bringing over gluten free cornbread stuffing.  I saw this recipe on Pinterest and thought it looked amazing, so I’m hoping this is what they are bringing.  🙂

The mashed potatoes are easy, but if you want to be healthy, I suggest my favorite mashed-cauliflower potatoes.  Your guest won’t even know they are eating veggies.  If you want to be Paleo, sub the russet potatoes for sweet potatoes.

Another friend joining us on Thursday is also allergic to gluten (I love when that happens!). She is bringing gluten-free apple pie and gluten-free pumpkin bars to top off our full tummies and day of thanks with one another!

What are you making for Thanksgiving?  Share your recipes below!

I hope you have a very happy Thanksgiving!

 

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2013 3:39 pm

    We are so glad you saw our recipe on Pinterest – and we hope your friends bring it, too. It will not disappoint – we promise.

    As for your turkey – sounds amazing, maybe throw in pears or apples too, for a sweet taste! We have used both, but this year we’ll be using Fuji apples.

    Have such a wonderful holiday!

    • November 27, 2013 9:31 am

      Thank you Jennie. I’ll try adding apples to the turkey! I appreciate the tip and I’ll let you know if our friends bring the cornbread stuffing (fingers crossed!). Have a wonderful thanksgiving!

  2. Kim Sterk permalink
    November 26, 2013 10:01 pm

    Wow sounds yummy!!!! I’d like your soup recipe! I’ll miss you so much. Soooo thankful for you! Love you!!

Leave a Reply

